How much do you spend on meat?

sweet potatoes

I find as I grow older my criteria for picking out new recipes has changed.  Before it could be anything, I didn’t balk at long ingredient lists or length of time.  Now I look for recipes that can be made quickly and provide great taste with few ingredients.  After all, the fewer the ingredients the less costly the meal.  I’ll still make a more complicated recipe now and then, but it needs to be something really special.

Tonights dinner couldn’t have been simpler.  Make some slits in the top of a pork roast, insert garlic slivers, rub with a little olive oil, sprinkle with herbs de province (or any herbs you like), salt, pepper and bake.  For the sweet potatoes, just mix up a little cumin, chili powder, paprika, cayenne, salt and sugar, sprinkle on potatoes add olive oil and toss to coat.  Spread on aluminium lined cookie sheet and roast at 450 for about 30 minutes, stirring a few times.  Lastly, apples and a little brown sugar, water, and ginger (you could use cinnamon) cooked on low until soft.

All these recipes are quick and easily adaptable to personal taste and quantity.  I can make it using a small 2 lb. roast for me and my husband or just as easily using a whole pork loin for a party of 6 or 8.  The herbs and the spices can also be tailored to your tastes.

I noticed that I only have 1 roast left in the freezer so I’ll need to get some next time they go on sale.  Which brings me back to my original question.  How much to do spend on meat?  I try not to buy anything over $2.00/lb.  I really try to get it closer to $1.50.  There are a few exceptions, pork tenderloin which I can rarely get under $2.99 and the occasional flank steak.  I do pay more for these, but I use them sparingly in recipes where they really count.  We are also trying to eat a proper portion of meat, which really helps with the meat costs. 

I’d like to hear how everyone else keeps their meat cost down.

Jaynie

Leave a Reply

