Menu Plan Monday

This is the official start of my $50 a week challenge.  Last week was my dry run and it turned out really well.  I came in enough under budget to get my Halloween candy at  Sam’s, so at  least that’s out of the way.  I’m starting out with a well stocked freezer and pantry, so the plan is to only buy a few things for the recipes I’ve planned for the week and then to restock with the loss leaders that are on sale that week.  We’ve also decided to try and incorporate more vegetarian nights, for both economy and health.  I’m trying for 2 nights a week, we’ll see if it can be accomplished.

We went to see Zombieland and ate out Sunday so the Pork roast from last week will move to this week.

Check back tomorrow to see how well I did and for more recipe plans go here.

Vegetarian Nacho’s

Pork roast with roasted sweet potatoes and stewed apples

Chicken Pomodoro with baked corn and broccoli

Homemade veggie pizza

Vegetable Beef soup with  honey cornbread

Leftovers

Meatloaf with mashed potatoes, green beans,  Baked apples and ice cream

6 responses to “Menu Plan Monday

  1. How did you enjoy the movie?
    I was speaking with my husband about having one or two veggie nights. He’s not very receptive to it.
    I’ve started looking at the weekly grocery specials this week and buy items that we will eat.
    Looks like your family is going to have some terrific meals this week.
    I love MPM especially since my husband and I lost our jobs. I’m looking for inexpensive and healthy meals for our family of three.
    Well, gotta get back to the laundry and Dr. Laura.

    • The movie was good, you’ve gotta love Woody Harrelson. I would like to get to 2 meatless meals a week, but I think for now just having 1 will be good. I too have lost my job and figured this was a good time to get everything organized. Menu Planning has cut done our grocery cost so much, I just want to kick myself for not doing it before. We are eating better to. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. I have a vegetarian son so we often plan meals around his tastes. It really is cheaper to not have to purchase meat. The problem is, dairy is so high. Maybe we’ll have to go vegan! The menu looks good.

  3. That’s how we’ve been doing our shopping for a few years now – the freezer is stocked, and we generally only buy what’s on sale, then we buy enough for a couple of months. It’s been working very well for us, and we’ve cut our grocery bill significantly. It makes life so much easier!

    • It’s amazing how much this has saved on the grocery bill and we are eating better too. Shopping is much quicker also because I have my list and I’m in and out.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Jaynie

Leave a Reply

